- What sort of information is collected when you register on bytestories?
When you register on bytestories, we store information about you including your name, email address, sex, and date of birth. During the account creation process, we ask you to verify your identity by clicking on a unique link which is sent to your email account. You have verified your account, you can customise it by creating links between bytestories and your Facebook, Google+, and Twitter accounts. Also, you can add your own image to personalise your Profile.
- What happens to the stories you share on the site?
Once you have your account and are signed in, you will be able to write, save and share stories with others on bytestories. These people may include your friends, family, acquaintances, and fellow Internet users. These stories are stored on www.bytestories.com and remain intellectual property of the creator and not of bytestories. However, you grant bytestories the right to display and/or publish your stories, including throughout the bytestories website.
- How will the personal information be used?
Unless explicitly authorised, bytestories will not share your personal data with any third parties. bytestories reserves the right to pool user data in order to gain a clearer understanding of the site's users.
- How will the personal information be saved?
Your privacy is paramount to bytestories which is why we store your details on a secure server with access only being provided to authorised bytestories employees.
- Will bytestories email me?
Upon registration on bytestories, users will become subscribers to an automated email which summarises their monthly activity and highlights some of the most popular stories. If users wish to no longer this email, they can unsubscribe at any time after initial receipt. bytestories probably hate SPAM more than you do!
- What other information may be kept, used, and shared?
In order to gain a greater understanding of bytestories users, your IP address will be stored on your account. This information may be used to provide an overview understanding of demographics of bytestories users and may also be disclosed to 3rd parties.
- Deleting and/or deactivating your account
When you delete an account, it is permanently deleted from bytestories. It typically takes about five working days to delete an account, but some information may remain in backup copies and logs for up to 90 days. You should only delete your account if you are sure you never want to reactivate it. Any stories created by you will become unavailable at the point of deletion.
Deactivating your account puts your account on hold. Other users will no longer see your profile, but we do not delete any of your information. Deactivating an account is the same as you telling us not to delete any information because you might want to reactivate your account at some point in the future. Any stories created by you will become unavailable at the point of deactivation and will remain like that until you reactivate your account.
You can delete or deactivate your account by emailing email@example.com.
- Contact Information
By default, other users will only be able to identify you from your name, location, and profile image. If you choose to allow other bytestories users to contact you, you can do so by adding in your social media links while editing your Profile page. Once this is activated, users will be able to click on the relevant social media link/s to access your designated pages.